I’ll Be Sad When Quarantine is Over

Confessions of an introverted extrovert

Pam Suchman
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by BRUNO EMMANUELLE on Unsplash

Until there’s a vaccine or this virus “magically disappears,” most of us remain in various forms of quarantine (and alternating stages of denial) for the foreseeable future. Of course not everyone is still hiding at home, Instacarting their groceries. Many of us have found ways to get on with our lives as safely as possible. Others haven’t seen another soul IRL in eight months. The country’s mostly “reopened,” whatever that means. Yet, we still homeschool our kids and work from our living rooms (or in my case, the bedroom). Seeing neighbors wearing masks no longer feels ominous and weird. And yet, it’s all so fucking surreal.

Here’s what I will not miss about quarantine

I will not miss the daily fear of catching my death or causing someone else’s.

I will not miss the inability to give hugs or send my daughter to a friend’s house for a sleepover.

I will not miss telling my daughter she can’t perform in the Nutcracker this year or take ballet classes in the studio or trick-or-treat in the way that she’s used to.

I will not miss the guilt I feel that we’re not getting enough exercise nor the sheer will it takes to pull ourselves off the couch.

--

--

Pam Suchman
ILLUMINATION

TV writer, producer and author who writes about dating, marriage, sex, spirituality and Hollywood. www.pamsuchman.com https://www.instagram.com/pamsuchman/