I’ll Try My Best

A poem on self-loathing and ingenuity

S.P Sacker
ILLUMINATION
2 min readMay 7, 2022

--

Flowers in the dimly lit forest
Photo by Abhishek Koli on Unsplash

Sinking slowly into the summer warmth,
Where the days get longer and the nights grow short,
And the quiet lasts for just a moment
While the sky falls still
And the flowers sway in the breeze,
And I hold the idea of contentment I dream of in my veins,
Far from within my reach
So it won’t engulf my mind.

Chilling, and cold in my lungs and my throat.
I shake because I feel repugnant and cruel
For leading everyone to believe my smile is natural;
As soon as I get the chance, I wipe it off.

Swaying lightly in the summer breeze,
I’m sorry for everything, for all the pain I’ve caused.
The still beat of an empty heart and the quick pace of catching my breath
As I run with the wind
Chasing after a dream to prevent a recurring nightmare from being realized.

Anything- I’ll do anything-
And if that means running forever,
While the sky falls still,
I’ll run with the wind forever
And I’ll never look back.

Hi, if you enjoyed this piece feel free to follow and subscribe to my account, s-p-sacker, to receive an email whenever I publish and check out some of my other works. Some with similar themes include:

Subdomain: s-p-sacker.medium.com

:)

--

--

S.P Sacker
ILLUMINATION

A friend once told me that my words are ‘cryptic’- feel free to confirm it for yourself◆ s_p_sacker on commaful.com