ILLUMINATION 100 DAY WRITING CHALLENGE: DAY 4

Going Into The Unknown

Josh O'Neill
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Edgar Chaparro on Unsplash

I quit a sport I had been doing for over 13 years recently. I had given a lot of my life to the sport and had the privilege of going to new and exciting places. I am grateful for everything I learned. Discipline, integrity, and mental toughness to name a few of the qualities I’ve developed.

While there was an element of sadness, I knew it was time to move on. I felt a sense of loyalty towards those involved. By walking away, I felt that I would be insulting them or betraying them. I believe, however, everyone gets to a point in their life where they have to do it for themselves. This may mean leaving something you once loved.

It was time to liberate myself from the hold the sport had on me. I wanted some freedom. I wanted to try new things. I yearned to learn more about myself.

Turns out, I love a challenge — especially physical ones. I view it as an opportunity to grow. The feeling of being out of your comfort zone, moving into the ‘stretch zone’. Then, finally, the unknown. Despite its namesake, the latter is a place where everything is undefined. You can define it in whatever way you like.

We don’t like to go into the unknown. Even the thought is uncomfortable. That’s perfectly understandable. Once you’re past this and in…

--

--

Josh O'Neill
ILLUMINATION

Engineer | Coach | Health | Fitness | You can find my weekly newsletter here https://www.joshoneill.co.uk/