I’m a Frivolous Writer in Serious Times

Is There Something Wrong with That?

Roz Warren, Writing Coach
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readJul 23, 2020

--

Photo by Claudie-Ann Tremblay-cantin on Unsplash

I recently wrote a brief rant about a piece of writing advice that has always bugged me:

I was happy with the way it came out. It got my point across, in a way that I hoped was fun to read. When I shared it on Facebook, some readers agreed with my opinion. Others did not.

But? A couple of readers responded by telling me that the piece was offensively frivolous. Given the seriousness of our times, they told me, how dare I write about something so trivial?

I’ve never been a serious writer. I’m a humorist. Even when I (very occasionally) tackle a serious topic, I try to do it in a funny way.

Why? It’s my nature. I don’t take things seriously. I joke around. It’s who I am. (And because it’s who…

--

--

Roz Warren, Writing Coach
ILLUMINATION

Writing Coach Roz Warren (roSwarren@gmail.com) helps Medium writers craft better, more boost-able stories. Roz used to write for the New York Times.