I’m Addicted to Alcohol

Have you ever tasted Asahi Beer?

Edmund Chong
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Omar Lopez on Unsplash

As a kid, I never understood why adults love to drink alcohol after a long day of work. That is until I became an adult myself.

Drinking became a norm for me, I am a business owner and drinking is considered an important negotiation skill. Over the years, I learned to control my liquor and got better at drinking.

You would often find cans of beer in my fridge that are readily available at home. At first, I bought thembecause my friends would often come over. But now that I don’t bring my friends as often, I begin to feel that maybe drinking has become an addiction for me.

Why Alcohol, not Carbonated Drinks?

Yeah, I used to think about this a lot myself, why carbonated drinks just don’t have the effect I want to be getting from alcohol?

Turns out, there is the chemistry behind it!

You see, When we start drinking alcohol, our bodies produce extra dopamine, which travels to the parts of the brain known as ‘reward centers’ — the bits that make us feel good and make us want to do more of whatever we’re doing.

So turns out that letting loose from drinking is a pretty common experience given that we somewhat get more emotional thanks to alcohol. This is…

--

--

Edmund Chong
ILLUMINATION

Founder of HustleVentureSG; Finance Media Company | 0 to 1.5 million organic impression under 1 year | For Business inquiries at hustleventuresg@gmail.com