I’m Becoming a Full-Time Writer!

I made $600 last month — and I think it’s time to take the leap.

Alvin Ang
ILLUMINATION

--

Alvin Ang Instagram

I’ve been away for the past few weeks on a business trip.

Ironically it was during this trip that I came to a slow-boiling realisation, one that I can no longer ignore: I don’t enjoy entrepreneurship very much.

I mean, I don’t hate it. If I did, I wouldn’t have dropped out of University to start my own business.

But I can no longer flee from the fact that I’m not particularly fond of the roller-coaster ride, the anxiety, the fierce competition that comes hand-in-hand with the life of an entrepreneur. Simply put, entrepreneurship doesn’t set my soul on fire. Writing, however, does.

Which is why I’m taking the leap to become a full-time writer.

Any founder worth his salt can tell you that a business is like a newborn baby. You’ve got to nurture it, and it requires way more nurturing than you think. Like Nicolas Cole wrote,

“It takes twice as long and costs twice as much.”

So for the past three years, I’ve always put business first. As a result, my writing and my martial arts practise suffered. And although I still firmly believe that…

--

--