I’m Cullen Dano…

Some pieces of me.

Cullen Dano
ILLUMINATION
2 min readSep 13, 2020

--

Photo by: Cullen Dano
Cullen Dano. Image by Cullen Dano

What’s in an introduction? This question weighs on my mind as I sit to write this. Well, I’m a coffee lover. Classic cream and sugar is the only route I take. Not into the fancy concoctions of the coffee bean. Born in the early 80’s, which makes me technically a millenial. A title I fought against for years. That is until I realized how awesome we actually are.

I was born and raised in Arkansas. I wouldn’t have wanted to grow up anywhere else. I am glad, though, to not live there now. I prefer a big city. And although Little Rock is no spring chicken, something closer to the West Coast was what I was after. I have two dogs, Guy and Eva. They are magnificent.

I’m a professional ballroom/Latin/hip hop dancer. I teach private dance lessons and I absolutely love it. It’s incredibly rewarding to watch a person grow. Not only in regards to dance but also in self-confidence as a result of dance. Dance truly brings me joy. It has ever since I was in my first talent show at nine years old. A hip hop routine to Motownphilly by Boyz to Men. I still remember some of the choreography.

I absolutely love to read. Mystery/Suspense is my preferred genre. The late Mary Higgins Clark was my introduction to the genre and as a young teen, I was enthralled. I never looked back. I’m typically reading two books at a time. One for entertainment and the other for self-growth. It’s a system that I find works well for me.

My favorite type of movie is horror. I can’t get enough of them. My friends think that I’m nuts. I watch them alone, in my apartment, with all the lights out and the volume up. I get scared, but that’s part of the fun! My favorite scary movie is Scream.

I still play my Nintendo 64 fairly regularly. Nostalgia is something I really enjoy. It’s comforting. Things that take me back to simpler times make me genuinely happy. A perfect Sunday afternoon is listening to Ace of Base while playing Goldeneye64.

I’m very excited to become a writer for ILLUMINATION and grateful to Dr Mehmet Yildiz for the opportunity. I look forward to growing my writing, one story at a time.

--

--

Cullen Dano
ILLUMINATION

Horror movie watcher. Dog lover. Port Wine cheese enthusiast. Hoping to evolve a little bit everyday.