I’m Going back to My Maiden Name

My son’s wedding helped me decide it’s time

Colleen Sheehy Orme
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Paige Thompson: On Pexels

I’ve struggled with whether, or when to revert back to my maiden name. I wrestled with the same factors most women do. Should I maintain my married name for professional reasons? Should I keep it for my children?

My son is getting married in July.

It seems like the perfect time to take back my maiden name.

I think we should keep his wedding to two Mrs. Orme’s, not three.

Although I don’t believe my ex-husband’s new wife has taken his name. It doesn’t matter. I don’t want to be Mrs. Orme on that day. I thank God there’s a new Mrs. Orme. I’m grateful to her in that sense.

I love my son’s fiancee.

I think we’re on the same wavelength.

She just asked me how I would like to be referred to on that day.

“Colleen Sheehy,” I said.

My boys have told me they don’t care. They told me several years ago, it wouldn’t bother them if I went back to my maiden name. They are old enough that I’m okay with reverting back to it, too.

I like my maiden name.

There’s no hiding this Irish girl.

--

--

Colleen Sheehy Orme
ILLUMINATION

National Relationship Columnist, Journalist & Former Business Columnist. I cover love, life, & relationships— #WomanResurrected colleen.sheehy.orme@gmail.com