Car Life

I’m Rewriting My Life Inside A Honda Civic Sedan

And these are my thoughts on how I’m doing so far

Michelle Y. Kwak
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readApr 30, 2022

--

Disperse Camping in Idaho, USA with My Tiny House On Wheels (aka Civic) <Photo by Me>

It’s been a harrowing and relentless experience the past two months of being in town.

The total number of months I’ve lived in my car full-time is nine. Most of the time, my car-living days were spent traveling to different states and across several national parks — exploring the great outdoors in depth. So far, it’s been exhilarating, freeing, and therapeutic. But, the past two months were brutal.

Here’s why.

Usually, I don’t like staying too long in cities for a reason.

Because a lot of people stare, and they don’t just stare. They gawk at your unconventional lifestyle.

“Look! There’s a pair of shoes underneath the car! Would you look at that!”

“Oh god, She’s homeless.”

“I don’t understand why these people can’t get a place of their own.”

I’m not going to lie. It hurts being invisible, misunderstood, and harshly judged for living out of a vehicle. I get it. It’s not the norm. But, not everyone had a choice. Some of us did. And, sadly, most of us didn’t.

--

--

Michelle Y. Kwak
ILLUMINATION

An ambivert (mostly introvert by heart) reinventing herself through storytelling. I guess it’s never too late to let your thoughts flow here.