I’m Sorry Noah Kagan

In my last article I told you I was working on a certain business but I failed you.

Jacob Johnson
ILLUMINATION
2 min readJun 5, 2024

--

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

As I mentioned in my last article, I wanted to start a business using the Noah Kagan method. I planned to create a company called ‘Fantasy Fights’ that would recommend fight gear, publish fight articles, and offer other martial arts-related content.

A landing page was all set to go, ready to collect emails from interested people. The plan was to use marketing skills to promote the site on Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok. My excitement was high to try out Noah Kagan’s method for launching a business.

But I failed…

How did I fail?

So I didn’t really fail; my business just pivoted to something I’m more passionate about: 3D printing. I’ve been into 3D printing for a long time and have made lots of items. Recently, my dad took me to a show, and as we walked around, I saw a product for sale. I picked it up and thought, “Hey, I could make this with my 3D printer.” I smiled, knowing this was what I wanted to do.

First things first, I decided to ask some friends if they would buy it from me. To my surprise, they were really excited about the product. So, I started printing the first four items to sell to my first four friends.

So far, they’ve been printing great on my 3D printer, but I still need a few additional items to finish them.

Is this really a fail?

Probably not. In his book, Noah Kagan talks about making pivots in business. I’m considering this a shift. Initially, I wanted to start a fighting business, but I realized I wouldn’t love it as much as the new business I’m starting.

So, while I am sorry, Noah Kagan, I haven’t given up on your business method. I plan to keep my followers updated on my progress. Right now, I’m fulfilling my first orders for my friends, but the world is my oyster, and I’m confident I’ll find many more clients.

Maybe in the next article, I’ll dive deeper into what my business is all about. (You’ll have to subscribe to find out!)

--

--