I’m Tired of Interracial Relationships Being Promoted in Mainstream Films

We’re obsessed with Romeo and Juliet relationships.

Khadejah
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo via Pexels

Halle Bailey got cast to play Ariel in the iconic Disney film, The Little Mermaid.

I knew she would be perfect for the role. If you don’t know her backstory, she’s a monoracial, light-skinned black girl who was signed to Beyonce’s record label, Parkwood Entertainment, in 2015. She and her sister can sing their asses off. I love their music.

They also play twins on the popular sitcom, Grownish (a spin-off of Blackish).

Both of them can act as well, so I knew Halle would kill the role. But I soon sat in my chair in anxiousness as I realized…it’s Disney.

Disney has been notorious for having lighter-skinned actors and actresses as the main characters in their live-action movies. I still remember the Aladdin debacle in which people got mad. There were two “Middle Eastern” actors (even though the actress who played Jasmine was Indian and British, not Middle Eastern) chosen to play Aladdin and Jasmine. Meanwhile, Aladdin and Jasmine are pretty dark in the original movie.

When I finally thought Disney got the casting right by casting Halle as Ariel — they got everyone else in the cast wrong.

--

--

Khadejah
ILLUMINATION

I write about life lessons, writing, social justice, and productivity. New articles published weekly. Follow me on Twitter :https://twitter.com/KhadejahJ22