Photo by Timothy Dykes on Unsplash

In Search of Happiness

Ahmed Jamal
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJul 7, 2020

--

Who on this earth doesn’t want to be happy?

I guess everyone does, yet the majority of us search for their happiness in many places and in many circumstances, yet we fail to attain it despite making all our efforts.

Why is that? Did you ever try to sit down on your own one day and sincerely answer this question to yourself?

I did. And it really fascinated to the extent that I decided to share it with you my dear reader hoping it might inspire you to find your own way to happiness.

I, like everyone else, was searching for my own happiness after losing it years ago. The last of these attempts to find it was getting married again after a three-year divorce.

I thought getting married again would solve all my problems and soon regain back my happiness, but I was wrong.

The Search Begins

After failing to get my happiness from outside sources, I finally decided to take the search for happiness into my own hands by trying to figure out first why I was not happy.

Instead of asking myself why I was not happy, I substituted this question with another one that made all the difference. I asked myself what was making me unhappy in the first place? The answer to this question really changed everything.

--

--

Ahmed Jamal
ILLUMINATION

Kind and Simple | Life Long Learner | Loves Reading | Writer and Editor @ ILLUMINATION | E-mail: abahaaji@gmail.com |