India Is Not for Beginners

Charlene Ann Mildred
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJun 1, 2024
Gangtok Ropeway, India — Photo by Andrey X from CANVA PRO

There’s a saying that goes, “India is not for beginners.” My boyfriend Anand is from Patna but now works in Kozhikode, Kerala. He has told me many stories about his homeland. That makes me feel like I’ve been there. The reality of experiencing India firsthand is something that I can only do for now.

India holds simple descriptions.

It’s a land of contrasts.

Ancient traditions coexist with modern advancements.

Cities give way to nice landscapes. Every corner has a story. The beauty of India is within the people, culture, cuisine, and festivals. While I’ve heard much about it from Anand, there’s nothing like experiencing it.

One thing that excites me about visiting India is the chance to join its grand festivals. I’m most excited about Holi and Diwali. The festivals are not just celebrations. They are experiences that stand India’s spirit.

Holi, also known as the Festival of Colors, a vibrant celebration that marks the arrival of spring. People fill the streets, throwing colored powders at each other, dancing to traditional music, and indulging in festive sweets. It’s a day when social barriers break down, and everyone celebrates joy and unity. Anand has shown me pictures of past Holi celebrations with her mother, father, sisters, brother-in-law, and his nephew. I can’t wait to join them in the joy and color.

Diwali, the Festival of Lights is another celebration I’m eager to witness. Diwali signifies the victory of light over darkness and good over evil. Oil lamps, candles, and colorful rangoli designs adorn homes during this festival. Fireworks light up the sky, and families share meals and exchange gifts. I will be part of this bright celebration. I will dress in a traditional saree and have intricate mehndi designs on my hands.

And oh, while you are reading, please try to go to Google > Search for Diwali. Then click on the Lamp. :)

Speaking of sarees and Mehndi, I am so excited by India’s traditional attire. The saree has many styles and draping techniques. It is not just clothing but a symbol of Indian culture and heritage. India’s regions each have a distinct saree style, but I cannot confirm that yet since I haven’t asked him. Aha.

If I am going to India, I will buy dresses from @theloom.in on Instagram. Hahaha!

Mehndi, or henna, is another beautiful tradition. The designs are intricate and applied to the hands and feet. I thought it is permanent because I saw Anand’s sisters putting Mehndi on their hands. They are stunning and looks meaningful.

Anand says, “Mehndi means joy and beauty at weddings and festivals.” I can already picture myself getting Mehndi for the first time. I’ll feel the paste on my skin and marvel at the detailed patterns.

Traveling to India is not just about seeing famous landmarks or ticking off items on a bucket list. It’s a series of experiences.

But shh. To tell you the truth, I haven’t met Anand personally. He was just a friend to me before online. We played quiz games, and I met him on Discord. Then we became lovers. Can you guess who said I LOVE YOU FIRST? Comment it.

Patna, Anand’s hometown.

Patna, one of the oldest continuously inhabited places in the world, is rich in history. The Patna Museum has a collection of ancient artifacts. Anand used to go there.

Then there’s Kozhikode, where Anand currently works.

Kozhikode is known for its beaches, spice markets, and historic sites on the Malabar Coast. The city’s architecture, cuisine, and festivals reflect various cultural influences ranging from Arab traders to European colonizers. I can’t wait to visit the markets, sample the local delicacies, and soak in the coastal beauty even if Anand doesn’t like the food there. He misses his maa’s homecooked meals.

Indian cuisine is a feast for the senses. Each region has unique flavors and culinary traditions, making every meal and the best of the best. The curries of the north are rich and creamy. The dishes of the south are spicy and infused with coconut. They have something to entice every tastebud.

One dish that I’m particularly excited to try is Biryani. There are Biryani that I have already tried from several restaurants, but I want to try the Biryani that is made in India. Spices, meat, and vegetables layer this fragrant rice dish, which is a beloved staple across India.

Patna is famous for Litti Chokha, a traditional wheat dish filled with roasted gram flour and served with mashed vegetables. I have seen him eating that in a video call. In Kerala, seafood is a must-try, especially fish curry made with coconut milk and spices.

Traveling to India is great if you want to experience unfamiliar sights, sounds, and smells. It means stepping out of your comfort zone and being open to new experiences. While there may be challenges, at least Anand will be with me.

One of the things I look forward to the most is to meet with people. Especially his family. People around the world know Indians for their hospitality.

Yes, India is not for beginners, but that makes it unique. I’m ready to see all India has to offer: the colors, the traditions, and the people.

Namaste.

Please subscribe here to receive the latest insightful stories by email.

Did you find this enjoyable? If so, remember to hit the clap button, which you can press up to 50 times and comment.
Take advantage of more from me — ensure you’re following if you still need to. Thank you for being an integral part of my journey.

--

--

Charlene Ann Mildred
ILLUMINATION

I'm a writer and content creator who loves to share tips on how to maximize your productivity. Email: charleneannmildredfbarroga@gmail.com