Insights of Using Google Ads to Advertise Business that I Can’t Learn from Tutorials

Jia Wei Sii
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readApr 10, 2021

--

I started in digital marketing two years ago when I was still in my third year of university. I applied for a part-time job and I learned Google Ads advertising from my boss. Two years of Google Ads advertising and communicating with numerous clients taught me a lot of things that I never learned from lectures and tutorials. Before you start to read, I need to declare that all the insights below are purely what I learned from my experience and they are very useful for me. Besides that, the insights below only refer to the manual text campaigns. All my clients are from Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs). You may take it as a reference or just a fun fact. I just want to share with you. Hope it helps!

Google Ads for paid advertising
The image was captured by the Author from the author’s Google Ads

Insight 1: Google Search Engine Result Page Ranking

If your budget is limited, don’t be obsessed with being in the first place in the Google Ads ranking in Google Search Engine Result Page. As we all know, the quality score, landing page experience, and costs are significant factors in determining the position of ads. Therefore, sometimes although our quality score of the ad has hit 10/10 and our landing page experience is good enough, we might still not be able to push our ads to the top position of the first page. One of the biggest possibilities…

--

--

Jia Wei Sii
ILLUMINATION

AI | Machine Learning | Computer Vision | VR | AR | Math