Introducing Myself to Illumination — Ntathu Allen

Ntathu Allen (she/her)
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readOct 6, 2020

--

My journey to be a writer

In the spirit of being a good team player and learning the ropes of writing and publishing on Medium, here is my introduction to our Community, as suggested by the kindhearted Dr Mehmet Yildiz.

I have been in the game of being a full-time yoga and meditation teacher since 2004, when I resigned from my secure professional career as a Probation Officer.

I resigned because the work burned me out.

I had nothing left to give to myself, my family and the people I supervised at work.

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Losing my dear cousin, Sherry, who was only 26 in 1995 and then my brother (aged 35) in 1997 shook me more than I realised.

I had counselling, but it wasn’t enough.

I was searching for truth, for inner peace and understanding of the meaning of life.

More than anything I wanted to be happy, for the pain to go away and feel whole.

Working in the grim environment of the criminal justice system with disadvantaged young people from deprived parts of South East London was difficult.

--

--

Ntathu Allen (she/her)
ILLUMINATION

Start your day with self-love and inner calm. Sign up for your free set of 21 Affirmations for Self-Love & Healing =>bit.ly/42g2MF5 *