Is Being a DoorDash Driver Worth it?

Weighing the pros and cons of being a DoorDash driver.

Ava Marie LaMonica
ILLUMINATION

--

Photographer: Alamy Stock Photo

In June of 2020, amid the reopening of NYC, I made the decision to become a driver for DoorDash.

I had been an avid user of food delivery apps like DoorDash, UberEats, and GrubHub, but never in a million years did I think that I, myself, would ever become a driver for the app.

For people who don’t know, DoorDash is a delivery food service app, which allows the customer to order from a variety of restaurants and fast food places. The order is then picked up by the dasher and delivered to them.

I came to this decision after taking a leave of absence from my cashier job at my local grocery store during the height of the pandemic. My previous job did not choose to hire back those who took this leave of absence, so I was put in a tough position.

Being in the work environment at the beginning of the pandemic caused me immense stress and anxiety. Did I want to find another similar job only to possibly take another leave of absence if we get a second-wave that could be even worse?

I discovered that more people I knew were working as DoorDash drivers. After extensive research, I realized it couldn’t hurt to sign up and try it out.

--

--

Ava Marie LaMonica
ILLUMINATION

Screenwriter/creative writer/lifestyle and film blogger. IG: @thecelluloidwallflower. Email: lamonicaava@gmail.com