State Auditor| Writing | Ideas | Technology

Is ChatGPT a Threat to Writers?

Writing in the advent of Technology

Jennica Rose
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Shantanu Kumar on Unsplash

You wanted an essay? a poem? an Insta caption? Well, as everyone knows, Chat Generative Pre-trained Transformer or in short, ChatGPT automatically comes to everyone’s mind, devouring the heroic role of unscrambling writing dilemma anyone could have.

Typically, from writing an excuse letter to even helping compose essays, CHATGPT got it all. Not a wonder why its name is always on a buzz!

With the rise of technology, one may wonder if the advent of CHATGPT, an AI-powered tool, poses a threat to the craft of writing.

I was finally able to try the CHATGPT and I was freaking really impressed. The way the Artificial Intelligence (AI) phrases its words are way better and more understandable. I tried CHATGPT in making my Master of Ceremony Script and it surprisingly delivered, I made a few tweaks and revisions and it simply made my hosting a lot easier. In my spare time, I tried to ask the AI if it could write me a poem, and to my disbelief, we almost had the same style of poem writing- end rhymes.

Tried also composing my findings through the app and this is where it all differs. CHATGPT can give you an idea of where to find one, but the criteria provided are not a hundred percent reliable. (This is not a downside though, could you just imagine the extent of how much it could improve).

In totality, CHATGPT isn’t a real threat to real writers but a powerful tool instead:

1.) Artificial Intelligence (If this could be a cliché) can never undermine originality, creativity, and writing style- Use it as a mind companion tool

As writers, oftentimes we are caught in a web of thoughts and chain of ideas and I was somewhat enthused by how the app keeps my notions streaming and focused. The information it's feeding me keeps me aligned. Honestly, conversing with the app kept me entertained and thinking. It felt like a real person. You might want to try it too.

Despite its impressive capabilities, CHATGPT cannot replace the originality, creativity, and unique style that real writers bring to their work. Rather, it can serve as a helpful companion tool to aid in the creative process. The app can help writers organize their thoughts and ideas and provide useful information to enhance their work.

2.) Its information is not a hundred percent reliable but its definitely workable- Use it as a starting track

I tried exploring if the data it's feeding me is accurate, and whether or not the app could do well in writing audit findings, but then it’s still far from what I hoped it could be. That’s not a bad thing though, Audit works are intricate so you can’t really expect it to deliver much. But guess what, the AI can give you a great overview. It can point to references that are really useful.

While the app may not always provide one hundred percent reliable information, it can still be a valuable starting point for research and can help writers identify useful references. And while it may not be fully equipped to handle certain complex tasks such as writing audit findings, it can still provide a great overview of the subject matter.

3.) CHATGPT helps you with tedious works

Sometimes, I had my grammar checked with the App, even the verb-subject agreements. For writing documents that don’t need thinking or things which do not need to eat up your time, let the AI do it for you.

It can be used to handle tedious tasks such as grammar and spelling checks, allowing writers to focus on more complex aspects of their work.

Similar to technology or whatever platforms or even food intake, the way we make use of it defines whether or not its entirety is beneficial or detrimental to human development. Technology is a great tool to help us sort the essential and significant matters from the dull, monotonous and cyclic ones. CHATGPT is not a threat as long as writers remain committed to originality. Let us not forget to continue evolving and developing our fascinating minds before technology would render us useless.

What are your thoughts about this? Let me know in the comment section below. Thank you for reading!

--

--

Jennica Rose
ILLUMINATION

A State Auditor. Unfolding Stories from Work and life to Scoops, Short Stories and recreationals.