Is D always for Destiny? Or is it for something else?

Ahmadou DIALLO ✪
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readOct 28, 2022

--

Photo by LexScope on Unsplash

“Data is the new oil.”

–Clive Humby

What is shaping our destiny today?

How will data shape our destiny tomorrow?

What can we do about it?

I have spent most of my life thinking I deserved to be part of the “successful” people I admire. I had some unfair advantages that helped me get excellent elementary, secondary, and high school marks.

In my engineering studies, I heavily relied on those “powers.” The reality was that I was average in Engineering school.

Looking back, I have been not more successful but luckier than most of my peers in Dakar, Senegal. Well, it depends again on how each of us defines success.

That voice tells me I could do more, have more, and become more. On the other hand, I have a capitalist voice that thinks that I am limitless. Some years ago, I sought a way to shatter that cognitive dissonance.

I have been leaning towards being more organized and mindful of my time, energy, and focus.

Hello, have you met Temperance?

Temperance in its modern use is defined as moderation or voluntary self-restraint.[1] It is typically described in terms

--

--

Ahmadou DIALLO ✪
ILLUMINATION

🏆 Top Medium Writer in Ideas. I am a professional storyteller who can help you share your stories. Find out more here: https://www.madception.com