Is it safe in the dark?

A 2 mins short story about survival

Shruthi_Rajaram
ILLUMINATION
3 min readJun 14, 2024

--

Photo by Rosie Sun on Unsplash

The year was 2056.
And the world was nearing its end.
Our lives were in grave danger.
They killed my husband.
He died trying to protect our kids.
I would do the same thing.
 
 
Our group was getting smaller every day.
I received the news that the enemy was hunting us down.
The group was shaken upon knowing about the death of my husband.
He was their leader and they all looked up to him.
I was only scared for the lives of my kids.
They were not strong yet and couldn’t fight like me.
 
 
So, we stayed indoors the whole time.
I dared not let them go out of sight,
Especially when there was light.
I knew it would result in their deaths.
I had to keep them safe, and so living in darkness was our only option.
 
 
But I still had to go outside every day.
To bring food and feed my children.
I wished we didn’t have stomachs;
Then we wouldn’t feel hungry.
It was then easier for us to be safe.
 
 
I was very cautious;
My walk was swift and stealthy.
It did not bring attention to anyone.
However, I had to fight someone every day.
To bring back food for my kids.
 
 
Some days there was no food.
I had to come back empty-handed.
To the eager eyes of my kids.
And to the sound of their hungry bellies.
On such days, I wished my husband was alive.
 
 
One such day, when we were sleeping on our hungry stomachs.
The sound of one of my child’s cries woke me up.
It was dark, and he had gone just outside to get some air.
With a thumping heart, I ran out at once to find him.
Found him I did, but with a group of people.
 
 
One was pointing a gun at my child.
I saw the knife wound on his leg.
My heart broke into a thousand pieces.
In one swift motion, I pounced on the guy,
My hands were on his face, and my strong nails brought out blood from his face.
 
 
He ran away from me in terror.
I ran to my child; he was in immense pain.
I held him closer and tried to take him inside.
He couldn’t walk and so I carried him.
Then suddenly, I heard a second squeal.
 
 
The enemy group had entered our home.
They were surrounding my child.
Guns were being pointed at her.
I ran to her with all my might.
And attacked the enemy.
 
 
But then the gun was raised, and a bullet got fired,
And I could feel the bullet pierce my skin.
I kept moving forward, despite the pain.
I had to keep my children safe.
I will protect them even if I die.
Another bullet hit me, hard on my chest.
Bullet after bullet was showered on me.
I kept on attacking them till my last breath.
 
 
The newspaper the next day read -
The wild Tiger species has come to an end. They are now officially extinct. The last family of a mother tiger and her two cubs were killed yesterday. She was the last empress of their race.
 
Five people were injured with one in serious condition. The poachers will be severely punished.
 
Thirty-two bullets were found on the body of the mother tiger.
 
- Shruthi Rajaram

Thank you for reading, if you liked it don’t forget to check out my other works Shruthi_Rajaram

Until next time. Ciao! ❤

--

--

Shruthi_Rajaram
ILLUMINATION

Writing is how I pour my heart out into the world. Any writing, I feel should be relatable and be able to tell the reader they aren't alone in this world.