Is Staying At Your Friends’ House A Good Option When You Travel?

5 Reasons Why Staying At Your Friends’ House When You Travel Can Become A Nightmare

TRAVEL STORIES BY GABE
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Janaina Ribeiro

The hardest truth to accept when it comes to traveling is that staying at your friends’ house when you travel is not always the best thing to do.

When you have a friend who lives in a tourist town that you want to visit, you find a way to kill two birds with one stone. You want to travel to where they live so you can visit them, while finding an opportunity to explore where they live without having to pay for accommodation.

This can sound fun and ok at first, but what should be a good travel experience can sometimes turn into a nightmare for you.

I am for sure speaking for myself and basing this lesson on my past travel experiences. Most of the times I got to stay at friends’ houses when I traveled, my experiences turned out to be a little more negative than positive. So, this is why I decided to write about this. I learned this year that staying at your friends’ house can be very uncomfortable, and it can even cost your friendship depending on whose house you’re staying at.

There are a few reasons why I think you should avoid staying at their house when you travel, so allow me to share them all…

--

--

TRAVEL STORIES BY GABE
ILLUMINATION

I am a poor kid from a Favela (slum) who visited 30+ countries. My moving stories will inspire you to achieve your travel dreams no matter where you come from