Is This How It's Going to Be Forever?

If you are older, tell me!… how did you get it together?

Fatunla Samuel
ILLUMINATION

--

Dog laying on the floor.
Photo by Ethan Hu on Unsplash

There is a fine line between being an overthinker and an overachiever. I’m currently stuck between the two.

When I was 15, I would walk distances listening to soothing gospel music, trying so hard to forget the worries surrounding me.

When I was 21, I began to think even more profoundly, and sometimes, I would be lost in the crankiest blues songs, using them as risers to climb deeper into my worst worries.

I do not think they are worries.

Maybe they are concerns, issues, or distress. But everyone has experienced the feeling.

It’s a grappling feeling of nothingness. I’m not fulfilled nor overworking, yet my soul feels tired.

So tell me! How did you get it together?

  • When you were 15 and your friends made it to college before you, how did you cope with peer pressure?
  • In your late 20s, how did you gather faith to overshadow the disbelief and sudden fears of your chosen career?
  • How did you face every fear that made you feel empty?

Or is this how it’s going to be forever?

  • Will I still feel this nothingness even…

--

--

Fatunla Samuel
ILLUMINATION

SEO Content Writer | Civil Engineer | Music Lover. With an interest in thoughts, psychology, and relationships. Reach out —https://www.fatunlasamuelo.com/