It Is Irrelevant If a God Actually Exists

Is there a point in arguing?

Aloe
ILLUMINATION
3 min readOct 5, 2020

--

by author

I have not always understood religion this way, but now I am firm in the belief that it is only an instrument serving a greater good. One that is not God, Allah, or Buddha, it is faith.

Faith can save us, from sinking, dying, or losing it, it is a necessary means of survival, a powerful tool, and that’s simply what people seek in the safety of religion; the affirmation that a larger being has control over what us humans can’t even grasp, that in life there is a realm of security, calmness, and even happiness linked to their faith in that being, while death holds the promise of the deserved salvation from the suffering and precariousness of life.

Faith is hope, it is the promise of help, it is art and purpose. It is all those things and it can be found in many places; in a god, for example, or more than one, but also in oneself and in others, and perhaps too, in science, or in what’s right and kind. I find faith to be such a beautiful privilege that it should hurt to deprive anyone of it.

My grandma told me once it’d come the day, when there was nothing and no one else to turn to and not a single thing I could do to stop it all from breaking me, that I would seek in God the slightest trace of strength to keep me going. I cried after that, faced by all the moments I knew about, and all that I didn’t, that she had just that, and I thanked the god I don’t believe in for being there for her. For existing for her.

Why would I care that all these people chose to believe in a superior being, that they fervently claimed their existence, if that faith can help them push through a merciless life, if it helps them stay alive, or gives them peace? We all have things we believe in, whether they exist in a physical plane, in a metaphysical one, or they don’t exist at all. I definitely do, and as long as the vision of the world and beliefs of some do not serve as a justification for hateful actions or are imposed and exploited as the unique lens through which we can access life; that is, as long as no form of religious organization uses faith as a weapon, I couldn’t possibly find a reason to argue the non-existence of anyone’s god/s/ess/es.

What is and isn’t real, after all? There are multiple, different realities, as many as people on Earth; thus it is that I understand that my grandma’s God is just as real as non-existent it is for me.

I claim I don’t believe in the existence of a divine being, and that is because it doesn't exist, not for me and not in my world, but it is cruel to unimaginable limits to argue yours, theirs don’t either. I am actually, truly happy they do.

--

--

Aloe
ILLUMINATION

Non-fiction, fiction & poetry writer submerged in the arts, the history of the willfully forgotten and the changes that intersectional feminism shall bring on