It Was Heartbreaking To Know That The Shortform Closed Its Doors for New Writers

But on researching further, I found some good news

Nilesh Dilip Bane
ILLUMINATION
3 min readApr 17, 2022

--

Photo by Felicia Buitenwerf on Unsplash

I came across The Shortform on the Recommended section on Medium’s homepage. I checked its guidelines and loved the concept of short posts having less than 150 words. Back then, I thought that shortform is a concept created by this pub. Also that it could be the only pub and trending at the same time to have this concept.

So I desperately wanted to be added as a writer, as many a time I note down quick thoughts but so far had refrained from publishing them, thinking that their content is not enough to qualify as articles.

I thought of The Shortform to be the much-needed platform to share these thoughts, which at times I find more impactful and interesting than lengthier articles.

Considering that The Shortform was my only hope, I was disheartened when it closed for new writers. Out of disappointment, I looked for other options to publish short posts. I felt glad for doing this research as I got myself back when I found that shortform is not a concept specific to The Shortform pub, but it’s a Medium standard for articles below 150 words.

On researching further, I found a few more good pubs mentioned below, dedicated to short-form content. I have derived the below format for listing down the pubs from J.J. Pryor’s article of Mar 29, 2020, listing The 45 Biggest Publications on Medium.com Still Accepting Writers which you may want to check out too.

1. Everything Shortform by Greg Prince (920 Followers)

  • Guidelines and How to join
  • Topics: Everything shortform literally, with dedicated sections for Fiction, News, Poetry and Writing
  • Things to know: Accepts submissions in standard Medium shortform formating. No tittles and prefers starting with a paragraph and not a standalone sentence. Bold the first sentence followed by one optional picture. One promotional link at the bottom of the article is accepted

2. The Daily Cuppa by Katie Michaelson (3.7K Followers)

  • Guidelines and How to join
  • Topics: Almost anything except for news and politics, with more focus on uplifting content
  • Things to know: Write ‘New’ or ‘Help’ in a private note on submissions and the editors would extend their support to assist you in getting better. As a new writer, I loved this as I so much want editors to share their feedback and experience

3. The Brain is a Noodle by Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她) (925 Followers)

4. Shorties But Goodies! by Liberty Forrest, Author (220 Followers)

Alternatively, a short form is also a post and can be submitted to most other non-short form-specific pubs too. You may add one of the tags as Shortform or Short Form.

I have received the best response to my posts published on Illumination by Dr Mehmet Yildiz whom you can’t miss knowing if you have spent some time on Medium.

Hope this article helps! Thank you for reading. Please feel free to add your suggestions, feedback and questions in the comments.

If you liked this article, here are some of my other articles you may enjoy on Medium and Writing Tips

--

--

Nilesh Dilip Bane
ILLUMINATION

Positive perception! Strives for self-improvement & being useful, being fit unexceptionally in daily hustle, Ordinary cyclist, loves reading, coffee, cricket