It’s Not Too Late, Readjust Your Course With Affirmations

John Cunningham
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMar 23, 2021

--

The power of self-talk

Image by Mirko Kaminski from Pixabay

My day sucked. The trains were late, and the 45 minutes I had planned to go over my presentation to the sales team had vanished into thin air. Poof! Needless to say, the pitch for a new service offering did not go as smoothly as planned. I felt like I was in a tailspin and needed someone or something to pull me out of it. Then I reached in my bag of tricks and pulled out a tool that saved the presentation. That tool was positive self-talk.

Magic Words

Your words have transformational powers. If you say, “I am a failure.” you will lay the groundwork for a belief that you can not succeed. So why not create some positive internal dialogue instead? That is what affirmations are all about.

Using affirmations, short positive messages, will help you pull out of that tailspin. They are the ladder that allows you to climb out of the bottom of your emotional barrel, and make your way to the top. Not only that, but they are also easy to do.

Merriam-Webster defines affirmation as an act of saying or showing that something is true. Why the positive statements you use as affirmations may not be true yet, planting the seed in your mind is moving your thoughts closer to a visible reality. The key is to make a habit of using these…

--

--

John Cunningham
ILLUMINATION

World-class trainer, life coach, and author of Win the Day: How to win your battles with stress, anxiety & depression. www.synergypersonaldevelopment.com