It’s Okay if You Don’t Know Where You’re Going

Welcome to the club

simplest
ILLUMINATION

--

It’s Okay if You Don’t Know Where You’re Going
This image was generated with the assistance of AI

For some of us, things feel better when we have a clear sense of direction.

But I’ve come to realize that it’s okay if you don’t know where you’re going.

Here’s why.

Sometimes, we need an in-between state

Maybe we’re in a lull. Maybe we don’t know what we want to do. Maybe we’re making progress but don’t feel fully engaged.

For whatever reason, we just don’t know exactly where things are going in our lives.

But that’s alright. We don’t always have to know exactly what our next 5 years will look like.

This uncertainty makes me uncomfortable. My natural inclinations are towards certainty.

Life will throw us into situations that may or may not be meant for us. Eventually, we’ll have to make big decisions or change directions.

During these times, we might feel a bit unsure or confused. I’ve found that I need to feel this way in order to eventually work my way out of it.

During these times of confusion or turmoil, I remind myself that I won’t feel this way forever. As time goes on, the path will become more clear.

--

--

simplest
ILLUMINATION

Reformed tech worker who's turned to writing. Sharing work on: writing, learning, psychology, philosophy, ADHD, jiu jitsu, and more. (May eventually niche down)