This is not about black and white.

It’s Time To Acknowledge Modern Human Privilege Regardless Of Skin Tone

A starving family in Lebanon woke me up. The fact that you have an opinion on the topic of racism is proof that you are among the privileged.

Lori Brown, Writer
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJul 9, 2020

--

Image by skeeze from Pixabay

I felt sick recently when a dear friend told me of his living conditions inside the borders of Lebanon. His own government has created such oppressive circumstances that his family is only allotted two hours daily to use electricity, and they are not allowed to use a currency other than the local currency that has lost value almost completely.

The food is rationed out to less than one meal a day when distributed and there is no way to increase their economic success. They are truly and terribly oppressed as a society. An entire nation of people — slowly starving in those borders and we cannot break them free.

I wanted to mail him some supplies like batteries, flashlights, dry foods, and cleaning kits for those without much water. When I asked him how he receives mail there in Lebanon his reply made me feel helpless. He indicated that he wasn’t sure if mail ever comes because they don’t get mail anymore, and there has been no correspondence from the outside…

--

--

Lori Brown, Writer
ILLUMINATION

I'm a mom, a wife, and a playful storyteller. Voted Top Blockchain Voice on Linkedin, and voted Best Human Ever by my two dogs. #RuffLife.