I’ve Been Writing on Medium for 6 Years — Here’s Why I Never Left

Most creators use platforms the wrong way.

Sinem Günel
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readMar 25, 2024

--

Image by Viri Gutiérrez

I published my first story on Medium in 2018 and haven’t stopped writing ever since. My work has reached millions of readers and helped me build a 6-figure digital business.

I use Medium to:

  • Publish my writing
  • Grow my email list
  • Test ideas
  • Get feedback from readers
  • Connect with brilliant writers and marketers
  • And monetize my work through the Partner Program

I also run Medium Writing Academy, the most comprehensive and hands-on program to teach you how to grow your audience and income by writing on Medium.

And even though I love the connections I’ve made and the wonderful writers I get to work with every single week, that’s not why I’m still here.

I’ve been on Medium for six years because it’s hands-down the most rewarding platform for most writers, including myself.

I’ve been around long enough to see dozens of writing platforms and shiny objects rise and fall. And I’ve seen way too many writers announcing that they’re “leaving Medium” just to be back a few months later.

--

--