I’ve Gained 780+ Followers on Medium. Here’s What I’ve Learnt

It’s not as hard as you think.

Francis Ekwunife
ILLUMINATION
2 min readSep 4, 2024

--

Photo by M.A Sarwari on Unsplash

Writing is hard.

And everywhere you see people saying they’ll quit Medium because they don’t get enough views. Or because they can’t write their “How to Make $1,000 in 1 hour” articles.

Many even think Medium is dead.

Well, let me tell you. Medium isn’t dead. It’s thriving. And I’ve gained 780+ followers on here.

Let me show you how.

Sit with the pain

Writing does suck.

We pour out our soul into an article hoping it’ll go viral. But when we publish, it barely gets 11 views.

But you won’t get far if you can’t bear the pains of writing.

It’s what has gotten me this far. When I had 9 followers, it was hard to call myself a writer. But I stayed. Bore the pain. And kept writing.

What separates good writers from great ones is seeing the pains of writing but still writing.

Focus on the small gains

Stop reading success stories.

All it does is make you jealous and feel like you aren’t doing enough. And I would go as far as saying, STOP OBSESSING OVER YOUR METRICS.

What matters are the small gains.

I used to struggle with this. Every time I wanted those big leaps as a writer. But I saw all the difference when I started focusing on my small gains.

How I do it:

  • I look at my progress over the months
  • And I notice how many articles I write in a week

Write for your readers. Not for your stats.

Study what works

Look at your results.

Notice what headline works. Notice which sentence gets the most highlights. Pay attention to how you wrote your most popular article.

Because you can use what you learn to recreate similar results next time.

Once I had a ‘viral’ article. So, I analyzed the headline, the format and size of the post and how I wrote it. Once I understood what made it ‘viral’, I replicated it in my next posts and saw similar results.

Now what I do is:

  • I write more transformational ‘how I’ articles.
  • And I engage with other writers.

Study your results for more success.

Final Thought

Life as a writer is fun.

But it’s more fun when you play the game for a long time.

What was your favourite lesson? Tell me why in the comments.

Get my free newsletter course and join 43 readers who receive exclusive 3–4 min tips, strategies, and resources twice a week to launch, grow, and monetize their newsletters.

--

--

Francis Ekwunife
ILLUMINATION

Posts about: Self-improvement, writing online, and growing your newsletter. Free newsletter growth course: https://blogger-16.ck.page/4bb6a8ba72