“I’ve Had Enough Tap Water for Now.”

Why too much routine can kill the human spirit.

Adam J. Cheshier
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Kalen Emsley on Unsplash

I recently had a conversation with a friend who is traveling through Southeast Asia. Our conversation resonated with me more-so than any conversation I’ve had in months.

She made the claim that she’s, “had enough tap water for now”. Which, on the surface, doesn’t make much sense. It wasn’t until she explained herself that I started feeling moved.

My friend is amidst a life-changing experience, as most of us have while traveling. Like me, she had never been outside of the Western world until taking on her current trip to Southeast Asia.

She describes is a lifestyle and culture that is completely unknown to me.

She explained further.

Being on the more developed and fast-paced side of our planet, our lives fall into the routine. People become busy, free time is lost, and we lose sight of what is really important to us.

We get caught up in obligations we’ve made for others, tasks that are meaningless to us, and start working toward the next step of a life that has no passionate direction.

We suffocate ourselves in our pursuit of further develop ourselves according to society’s…

--

--

Adam J. Cheshier
ILLUMINATION

Documenting obscure pockets of the world across long-distance overland expeditions. Recently celebrated 7 years of nomadism. https://linktr.ee/adam.cheshier