I’ve Lost My Passion and Now I Don’t Know What to Do

The struggle of working in a field I once loved.

Mara Novi
ILLUMINATION
2 min readFeb 3, 2023

--

Photo by Dmitry Schemeley on Unsplash

I had a caring heart, once.

That sounds so bad.

I do still care, just not to the extent that I once did.

I don’t go above and beyond anymore.

At the end of the day, I’m there for a paycheck so that I can keep my apartment and eat.

So, I show up, do what I’m expected to, and I go home.

I feel that a lot of people are in this position, especially these days.

Things weren’t always like this.

I would do anything and everything that I was asked to do. I worked through lunches, stayed for hours after my shifts, and did every extra task that was asked of me.

You know what happened?

I was exhausted.

I had very little time to be with my partner.

I got burnout.

It was rough, and even though I don’t do those things anymore, I still feel the aftermath.

I didn’t want to do the work of multiple people while only getting the income of one person.

So, I stopped.

I think people call that “quiet quitting” now.

But there’s more to life than working yourself to death.

Everyone is understaffed, so I understand that there is a struggle right now.

If a duty is listed as part of the job description, it obviously needs to be done.

But I am one person.

I can only handle so much.

At a certain point, we have to stop expecting so much of people.

--

--

Mara Novi
ILLUMINATION

I’m just starting my journey and sharing my story. Dog and cat mom, spouse, writer.