I’ve Written 10 Stories In One Month

M.E.Gudmunds
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readJun 19, 2020

How has it been and what have I learned so far?

My first story on Medium came out on the 18th of May 2020. I had wanted for the title to be positive and somewhat cheerful, so I called it “The One Thing You’re Doing Right For The Planet.”

“The Planet is Dying And We’re Not Doing Enough.” would have been too intense and judgemental, right?

That story got ten claps and 0 earnings. Did I get disappointed? Not really.

Photo by Minh Pham on Unsplash

Lesson #1

Don’t expect to “nail it” in the beginning

Before starting any project I prepare my mind for failure. It’s a cliché, I know. But this is the only way that I can mentally accept, that it’s work ahead and not just a hobby. I’m on Medium as a writer because I want to be good at writing.

I’ve read articles on why I should be publishing everyday. I truly wish I have the genius to be able do so. But I don’t. I know myself really well and if I feel the pressure to write everyday, I don’t think I’ll be able to produce authentic contents.

My goal for joining Medium is to write from my heart- and gut. Not doing so would just feel forced and fake.

Lesson #2

There will be times when you won’t feel inspired to write

I recently “suffered” from a writer’s block. I had some ideas of what I might want to write. I typed words and sentences. As of now my draft pages are filled with notes and titles- all incomplete.

Not good. But totally normal.

Am I right? If you have felt this way, give this story 25 claps and leave me a message (see what I just did there?).

But honestly, isn’t it just a way for our brain to rest? Having a creative slowdown is not a sign of a bad writer. It happens to EVERY PERSON. Relax. We just need to be ready to type when the creative juices start flowing in again!

Lesson #3

You will be all over the place before you start to feel settled

My ten stories are a mix of everything: travel, pet, Iceland, writing and lessons learned. Have I found my niche yet? Nope.

That’s ok, too. I’m still learning. No pressure.

Putting pressure on yourself is the killer of creativity. Spontaneity revives a tired mind and gives birth to bright ideas!

That’s the thing about writing for me. I want to experience it with an open mind. So far, I can see which stories are more “popular” than others. I use this as a compass to help me navigate in which direction I might pursue more topics. I have written on subjects close to my heart but it helps to know which ones would be worth publishing.

Lesson #4

Reading stories from different authors are great for my creativity

Being on Medium and having access to so many amazing stories is something I am thankful for. Everyday I find something that gives me a smile, or maybe a story that makes me take a moment to pause and think. These are all good nutrients for the brain because they give me new ideas, ways of thinking and challenging my old beliefs.

Stories are like windows to the person who has written them. If I like what they wrote then I want to read more, get to know the writer- almost creating a pen-ship (I know…I can’t help it!).

Medium is allowing me to see myself in so many stories. But it also confronts me in ways that make me question myself and how I do things.

Lesson #5

Keep rowing that boat!

This is my tenth story on Medium. Seven of these stories have been published on Illumination and I am so grateful for that. Dr. Yildiz and his team have been so supportive in promoting works from newcomers like myself. We need it, truly.

I’m rowing my paper boat forward using my pen to paddle into creating more interesting stories.

Some days I row faster thus, I feel good and exhilarated. However, some days I feel slower, as if I need a gust of wind behind my back to help me glide forward.

Acknowledging this is part of growing as a writer, I believe. We all have our days. We create stories according to how we feel that moment.

Lesson #6

Self-doubt is always lurking behind you

I wish I can give a tip on how to rid of self-doubt. My personal experience is that, ever since I started writing- this feeling comes back from time to time. It’s like an unwanted guest who gives out unsolicited advice on you stories.

Is this good enough? Will someone read this? Is this even relevant? Hello, is anybody out there reading my story?!!

Are these familiar? Have you noticed that often it lurks just after you’ve submitted your work? What a nuisance!

What comfort I can give us, is that we just need to live with it. It’s harmless, really. We just need to tell it to sit quietly in the corner while you give yourself the credit you deserve for submitting a story.

Self-doubt is part of us. But it is also our duty to keep it under the rational radar. Give it some power and it will start controlling our lives.

Our doubts are traitors, and make us lose the good we oft might win, by fearing to attempt.-William Shakespeare

Remember that self-doubt is only a fraction of the whole picture. It is small but give it might, and it will get bigger and overbearing. By practicing self-awareness and focusing on wins, will we feel in control of our life- our ideas, projects and dreams!

Lesson #7

Stand up and move away from your computer

When the words start flowing in and we’re in our element, it’s hard to detach ourselves from our chair. I understand how important it is to just keep on writing. However, there will come a moment when we’re just staring at the screen and nothing is happening.

Take this cue to stand up to give your body and mind some break from writing. We all need this. Remember that it is all connected- from your toes to your brain!

If you know you are prone to back pain from sitting too long, set up a reminder on your phone. I use this method and it works well for me. My body prefers to stand, so it can be challenging for my hips to be in a sitting position for longer periods of time.

Lesson #8

Avoid frustration and find a space that works for you

Make your writing life easier by having a space where you can think. J.K. Rowling practiced this when she was writing the Harry Potter series. She went to write in different cafés while her baby slept just outside (don’t panic because this is actually very common here in Europe).

This became a religious thing for her. And when she was finishing up the series, she chose a hotel room in which she would be able to focus entirely on her writing.

I know we all work differently, but I find that most people need to have some kind of space around them in order to write. My space at the moment depends on what time of day it is. Mornings are best for writing in the kitchen when everyone else are sleeping, and it’s only me and the dog who are awake.

Lesson #9

The more I read the better I become at writing

It’s the subtle changes that I am noticing when I write these days. I’ve become more at ease with writing stories that have more soul and depth to them. Writing has become more than just putting sentences together.

Reading stories from other authors give me more than just pleasure. Some stories I have read are so beautifully written that it makes me want to also be better at my own writing. Their stories are inspiring me to be a better writer.

When I’m not writing or submitting a story I am scrolling through stories here on Medium. There’s an abundance of well-written stories from different topics, and if you haven’t noticed…there are no ads!

Lesson #10

Celebrate each submitted story

There is a saying, “you are only as good as your last project.”

Realizing this gave me so much more ease towards the work I have completed. What is the use of overthinking a submitted story, I thought. It’s out there. I’ve written it, worked hard polishing the whole story… so why can’t I just let it go with a blessing?

Because I’m a human being.

Our need for appreciation is normal. We are social beings who thrive with other human beings. We want to love and be loved.

This has also taught me to be more kinder towards my creative work. It’s realizing that my work is my own- an extension of me.

The completed work is not just a completed work. Small achievements deserve the same attention as bigger ones. It is an accumulation of my thoughts, feelings, ideas, hopes and opinions. All of these create an entirely unique story. And so, it must be celebrated each time.

If you are a newbie at writing like I am, then you can probably relate to some- or all of what I have written here. But if you have been in Medium for a long time, I would love to know what lesson stood out for you as you continue to write stories for Medium.

--

--

M.E.Gudmunds
ILLUMINATION

A lover of life who prefers pen over microphone.