Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. Why my favourite book?

Ranting Goddess
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMar 25, 2023

--

Photo by Hannah Smith on Unsplash

My favourite book is Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Here are my thoughts about the book and why it has taken pride of place on my bookshelf and has been read and reread many times over the years!

First, a brief explanation of the storyline.

Synopsis

“Jane Eyre” is a novel by Charlotte Bronte, first published in 1847. The story is a coming-of-age tale that follows the life of Jane Eyre, an orphaned young woman, as she grows up and becomes a governess.

The novel begins with Jane’s difficult childhood, including her abusive treatment by her aunt and cousins. Eventually, she is sent away to a boarding school where she excels academically, develops close friendships, and thinks about her place in the world.

After leaving school, Jane becomes a governess for a wealthy family, where she meets and falls in love with the moody and mysterious Mr. Rochester. However, their romance is complicated by a dark secret in Rochester’s past.

As Jane navigates her feelings for Rochester and the challenges of her position as a governess, she must also confront her identity and sense of morality. Ultimately, Jane must make hard decisions about her future and her relationships.

--

--

Ranting Goddess
ILLUMINATION

Definitely like a rant and chant but not a goddess just in my dreams. Take me as I am. No airs or graces with me. Yorkshire Poet, Acting coach, Director.