Jim Carrey’s Retiring — Here Are Some Classic One-Liners to Celebrate His Departure

The great man is laying down his proverbial hat but he left behind a treasure trove of wisdom. Here are some of my favourites

Andy Murphy
ILLUMINATION

--

Image from wikicommons.org

“Are you being serious or are you screwing with me?” The interviewer asked after Jim Carrey announced his retirement.

“I’m being fairly serious yeah”

“Why?”

“I really like my quiet time and I really love putting paint on canvas and I really love my spiritual life and I feel like (and this is something you might never hear another celebrity say as long as time exists)…

I have enough. I’ve done enough. I am enough.”

There was no grand exit or a farewell to Jim Carrey Netflix special. There was simply a man so content with his life sitting down alongside a loving supporter saying “I am enough. I have enough. I’ve done enough.” And I love that.

I first fell in love with Jim Carrey because he made me laugh.

There was Liar Liar and Bruce Almighty, the Truman Show, and Yes Man. I was even one of the rare people who enjoyed him next to Kate Winslet in Eternal Sunshine of A Spotless Mind.

--

--