Content Strategy Guidance

Unedited Version of “How Does It Feel Like to Live with Children from Different Cultures?”

Journal Entry: A sample representation of raw writing versus polished content making different effects on the audience

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION
Published in
8 min readMay 23, 2024

--

Photo by Anastasia Shuraeva from Pexels

Context and the Purpose of This Story

As a publication owner, I am privileged to have several professional editors who donate their precious time to line-edit impactful stories of our contributors. However, I rarely use their services for my own writing, preferring to allocate their valuable time to other writers who can benefit from their generosity.

Recently, I wrote a personal story, copying and pasting from my diary on the same day as a unique emotional event. Before publishing it with my own self-edits, I asked for feedback from a professional editor with a background in creative non-fiction and linguistics.

The editor liked it and offered to line-edit the piece and make it more attractive for a broader audience without changing my content. I agreed as this piece is close to my heart, and I wanted it to be better articulated, hoping it could reach more readers. Unfortunately, it did not, as the algorithm recently seems to have…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com