Karma May Not Exist. But, This (Fortunately) Does.

Life is a non-zero-sum game.

Hudson Rennie
ILLUMINATION

--

Good and bad, satirical cartoon.
Image generated by the author (using midjourney.com)

Life can feel like a zero-sum game.

Other peoples’ wins feel like your losses. And just when you start learning the rules, the game changes.

For years, I let this mentality hold me back. I’d see coworkers using social trickery to win promotions. Or, online charlatans bragging about their manipulative business practices.

I’d wait, hope, and pray for the universe to cast a karmic thunderbolt down to Earth. But, it never did.

And, I’m learning it never will.

Here’s why karma doesn’t exist. And, why you should focus your attention on a more tangible mindset.

The harsh reality of life.

Given time, humans will grow progressively more pessimistic.

And, although this may feed the cliche of grumpy old people, it’s really no better or worse than youthful optimism.

As George Bernard Shaw famously said,

“Both optimists and pessimists contribute to society. The optimist invents the aeroplane, the pessimist the parachute.”

When I was younger, I kept a tally of good vs. bad.

--

--

Hudson Rennie
ILLUMINATION

I write about all sorts of things. I hope you fall in love with my words. 🙋‍♂️🪴 Watch me on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/@hudsonrenniewrites