Know How to avoid burnouts!

Feed-o
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMar 5, 2024
Photo by Meghan Holmes on Unsplash, a man sitting in a cafe looking tensed

Burnouts! We have all been there.

I decided in January to write daily, I have written copies, blogs, and long-form tweets but one day I was so trusted I left everything.

I asked myself what was wrong with me. I was writing daily, improving daily, was getting appreciated. So what leads a human brain to a sudden ‘full stop’ to everything?

I even stopped working out which I was doing consistently for a long time. I didn't understand the possible reason for the burnout.

Listening to people working 8 hours a day made me feel very demotivated. Then one day I thought that the reason may be because I was learning.

People can work 8 hours or more but cannot learn consistently for 8 hours.

Let me be clear with an example of myself if I say I will write 10 emails daily for my portfolio- it will feel great on day -1 maybe day 2 but if you are a human you will face burnout as I said earlier sudden stop.

But if I get a client and he asks me to write 10 emails in one day I will write.

It is totally different to learn and work.

So I just focused on learning and tried to be consistent.

It's easy to get caught up in the excitement of self-improvement and forget to take care of ourselves along the way.

But trust me, finding that balance is key to long-term success and happiness.

Understanding Burnout

let's make sure we're on the same page about what burnout is. Burnout is more than just feeling tired or stressed out. It's a state of physical, mental, and emotional exhaustion caused by prolonged periods of stress or overwork. And believe me, it's something we want to avoid at all costs.

Signs of Burnout

So, how do you know if you're on the road to burnout? Here are a few signs to watch out for:

• Constant fatigue and lack of energy, even after rest.
• Feeling cynical or detached from your goals and activities.
• Increased irritability or frustration, especially towards yourself.
• Difficulty concentrating or making decisions.
• Physical symptoms like headaches, stomach issues, or muscle tension.

The Importance of Self-Care

Now that we know what burnout looks like, let's talk about how to prevent it. One of the most important strategies? Self-care. That's right, taking care of yourself isn't just a luxury – it's a necessity, especially when you're on a journey of self-improvement.

• Make time for activities that recharge your batteries, whether it’s reading a book, going for a walk, or spending time with loved ones.
• Practice mindfulness and relaxation techniques like meditation or deep breathing exercises.
• Prioritize sleep and aim for at least 7-9 hours of quality sleep each night.
• Fuel your body with nutritious foods that give you energy and support your overall well-being.
• Don’t forget to move your body! Regular exercise can help reduce stress and improve your mood.

Setting Boundaries

Another key to avoiding burnout is setting boundaries. It's important to know your limits and learn to say no when you're feeling overwhelmed. Remember, it's okay to prioritize your well-being it's essential.

• Learn to delegate tasks or ask for help when you need it.
• Schedule regular breaks throughout your day to rest and recharge.
• Create a healthy work-life balance by setting boundaries around your time and energy.
• Practice assertiveness and communicate your needs effectively to others.

Listen to Your Body and Mind

Finally, remember to listen to your body and mind. They'll often give you subtle (or not-so-subtle) cues when you need to slow down and take care of yourself. Pay attention to these signals and don't ignore them – your well-being depends on it.

•Check-in with yourself regularly and reflect on how you’re feeling physically, mentally, and emotionally.
•Trust your intuition and honor your needs, even if it means taking a step back from your self-improvement goals temporarily.
• Seek support from friends, family, or a professional if you’re struggling to cope with stress or burnout.

--

--