Hot Take: Colleen Hoover Books are Dangerous and Promote Terrible Ideas for Women and Self Worth

A breakdown of the toxic advice and dangerous narrative found in popular author Colleen Hoover’s books, plus 3 pieces of relationship advice to counteract what you read in her books.

Michelle Murphy
ILLUMINATION

--

A woman stands in front of a brick wall with a book on her face.
Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash

This article is going to be outside of my norm and maybe it’ll tank but I need to get it off my chest.

Ladies, please stop reading Colleen Hoover books.

As a Millennial, my Instagram, Goodreads, and YouTube feeds are bombarded with people lauding Colleen Hoover.

“Couldn’t put it down!”

“Cried the whole time!”

“Page turner!”

I was so inundated with her name that I had to check her books out. She has 38 books according to Wikipedia and 11 of those are New York Times Best Sellers. Scrolling through Goodreads, the majority of her books have over a 4.2/5 rating which is huge — some of my favorite books haven’t scratched into 4 stars. She’s clearly doing something right, right?

I started with Verity, which I will admit was a gripping page turner that I enjoyed (although suffers from some of the issues I’ll get…

--

--

Michelle Murphy
ILLUMINATION

Managing Director @Use All Five. I write about career growth, mentorship, organization, and wellness. Stay in touch: https://medium.com/subscribe/@michjmurphy