Laughter Makes the World Go Round

Ishaaq
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readSep 24, 2023

Life is hard. The world can beat you down sometimes and other times we sink to rock bottom faster than the amount of time it took for Elon to ruin Twitter(I refuse to call it X, what is X, it means nothing!?). What gets us through it is some good old-fashioned humor. In the depths of despair the act of just doubling back laughing at the precarious situation you are in, while everyone stares at you and wonders why the insane asylum has such lousy security.

In all seriousness(wink wink), humor is an amazing tool that just makes life so much easier. Are you a serious person? Well, don’t be because you’re not experiencing life to the fullest. Life is fun, so why don’t you have fun while living it? Cause I promise you that things don’t matter as much as you think they do and sometimes all you need is to just lighten up and make some jokes.

Photo by Dan Cook on Unsplash

Don’t believe me? Well, believe me, because I used to be just like you. I was the type of guy who created stress where stress didn’t exist and got worried over the stupidest things. Now that guy obviously still exists and he helps me a lot when I’m solving problems, but sometimes I need to turn him off. That is where humor comes in, specifically for me sarcasm. You see, I’m a huge introvert and one of the reasons I am one is because of the aforementioned worrying problem, but I’m able to numb that with a little sprinkle of sarcasm.

If you like how I write and want me to write for you, contact me on Fiverr.

It helps because it feels like I’m laughing at the world. Like I’m one of the main characters in a sitcom and I’m watching myself go through all these wacky and silly shenanigans. Many of the sarcastic jokes I make are really just for me, a little thing to make myself giggle and lighten me up, give me confidence that all of this really doesn’t matter that much and I should just let go a bit.

That isn’t to say I don’t make other people laugh. I like to think I’m at least a person of average funniness and when people laugh at one of my jokes it makes me happy, not because I need validation but because I get happy making others happy.

That’s the point I’m trying to make. With all the trouble life can throw at us, humor is what keeps us going. It gives us the ability to role around on the floor in laughter during the most soul crushing times. It makes big things look just a little bit smaller. Laughter is the sound that pierces through the problems of life, the evil of man, and the melancholy of change.

“A person without a sense of humor is like a wagon without springs. Its jolted by every pebble on the road”

This is the reason I love dark humor. When people joke about the horrible things that plague the world, it takes you out of it for a minute. You can exist outside the swarm of what-ifs and frightening breaking news and just be happy.

I don’t understand why people say humor which has been done in good taste on a sensitive contemporary issue is “wrong” or “insensitive”. Those issues are what need laughter the most because laughter is like sunshine to people, and those issues have no sunshine. What do they propose we do, curl up into a ball and cry? There is no point in worrying, there are hundreds of reasons to laugh.

So what am I saying? I'm saying to laugh, laugh for those who can’t and for those who won’t.

“A good laugh heals a lot of hurts”

At the end of the day what the world could use is a little more love and a little more unity, laughter brings all of that together because it is almost impossible to feel any kind of distance between two people when your howling with laughter, your both in a combined effort to be human, to isolate yourselves from the horrors of the outside world and just be... happy.

Humor is the shovel that clears snow out from the driveway, it helps you experience life to the fullest because you can get through the bad and truly revel in the good times.

When life knocks you down the strongest people are the ones who can laugh it off, get back up and try again, only to be hilariously knocked off the bull once more.

Humor helps us push through because you can’t fail if you always having a good time.

So laugh, you have absolutely nothing to loose.

--

--