Photo by GR Stocks on Unsplash

Lays Discontinued Flavor I Will Never Get Over

It’s been 10 years now. I should be over it by now, but I’m not. I’ve been heated since. I know no one probably remembers this, but I demand a re-vote.

🖋️ DAR
Published in
3 min readJul 25, 2024

--

Back in 2014, Lay’s held a “Do Us A Flavor” contest that pitted four unique flavors against each other in a showdown for the ages. The contenders? Bacon Mac & Cheese, Wasabi Ginger, Mango Salsa, and the coffee-lover’s dream… Cappuccino!

I voted. And I never vote over food or any other commodity. But this, I had to have more of. I crave it to this day.

To this day, I cannot fathom how this flavor lost out to Wasabi Ginger of all flavors. Yuck! And don’t get me started on Mango Salsa… gag! Cappuccino Lay’s had a sweet and savory scent from the first open to the last chip. I honestly don’t know how it lost.

According to USA Today, “America says no to cappuccino potato chips.” But I say America didn’t know what it was missing. The creamy, slightly sweet, and surprisingly delightful taste of cappuccino-flavored chips was a revelation. It was as if breakfast and snack time had a delicious love child.

Let me take you back to that moment when I first opened a bag. I remember it vividly. The aroma hit me first — like a comforting waft of fresh coffee beans mixed with a hint of sugar and cream. The first bite was an adventure in flavors; the subtle coffee notes mingled perfectly with the salty crunch of the chip. It was bizarre, yes, but in the best possible way.

I remember sharing a bag with my friends, all of us skeptical at first. But one by one, we became converts. We even joked about pairing them with actual coffee for a double dose of java goodness. The flavor was polarizing, sure, but in a world where the same old tastes dominate, Cappuccino Lay’s dared to be different.

And then, the results came in. Wasabi Ginger? Really? Don’t get me wrong, I love a good sushi night, but those chips were an assault on the senses. And Mango Salsa? Please, if I wanted fruit with my chips, I’d make a smoothie.

I remember scouring stores, hoping against hope to find just one more bag. But alas, it was not meant to be. The flavor faded into the annals of snack history, a casualty of what I can only assume was a nation unprepared for its brilliance.

Over the years, I’ve tried to recreate that flavor at home. Coffee grounds, a sprinkle of sugar, a dash of cream — I’ve experimented endlessly, but nothing ever quite hits the mark. My kitchen has seen more failed chip experiments than I’d care to admit.

So here I am, a decade later, still dreaming of what could have been. I know it’s silly to get so worked up over a potato chip, but isn’t that the beauty of food? It can evoke such strong memories and emotions. Cappuccino Lay’s were more than just a snack; they were a culinary adventure, a conversation starter, a moment of joy in a crinkly bag.

Lay’s, if you’re listening, it’s time for a comeback. Give the people (or at least this very passionate person) what they want. Let’s bring back Cappuccino Lay’s and give them the victory they so rightly deserve.

Until then, I’ll keep dreaming, reminiscing, and maybe, just maybe, conducting another chip experiment in my kitchen.

Thank you for reading! What discontinued food item do you miss?

--

--

🖋️ DAR
ILLUMINATION

DA Rasmussen ("Destiny") is an American novelist with an irrevocable passion to write.