Leaders, Are You An Aikman Or A Romo?

Brian E. Wish, PhD
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJul 7, 2020

--

Image by skeeze from Pixabay

Three strategies to get past your stats

Bored and surfing the internet, clickbait caught my eye. The “Top 25 Most Over-rated Quarterbacks” sucked me in. I’m only a casual football fan, but every year I start out with the same hope that the Cowboys have turned the corner. This will be the year.

As I clicked through the list, one car insurance ad at a time, one name caught my eye. Troy Aikman. What? Bernie Kosar, I get it. Vinny Testaverde, I see the point. Boomer Esiason, check. But Aikman? I read through the blurb. Sure, he had three Superbowl wins, but his numbers weren’t great. It was his team that carried him, and without that dream team, his mediocrity would have shown through.

Then I thought of Tony Romo, the Cowboys quarterback from 2003 to 2016. Thirteen seasons of disappointment. No Superbowl wins. Two playoff wins compared to Aikman’s eleven playoff wins. But damn he’s got great stats. His career quarterback rating of 97.1 puts him as 4th highest of all time. Aikman tied for 61st with a rating of 81.6.

So who’s numbers would you want, Aikman’s? Or Romo’s?

You don’t always see what good leaders do

--

--

Brian E. Wish, PhD
ILLUMINATION

I do a lot of things. Some of them I even do well. But what I really want to do is share ideas. Check brianewish.com or https://www.linkedin.com/in/brianwish/