Learning to Love my Relationship Weight

Ryan Ehrhardt
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readSep 2, 2023

--

Image from Denny Müller at Unsplash

Love is a beautiful thing. Love can move mountains and love can change lives. Love fills us up, and love can tear us down. A lack of love can lead us to yearn and to better ourselves, and being full of love leads us to being, well, full.

The comfort of finding that person you think could be your special someone is a wonderful thing. Your body image improves, your shame eating gets rebranded as snacking, and you learn to shamelessly enjoy the many great flavors the frozen dessert aisle and the surprisingly decadent Walmart pastry section have to offer. You get to experience pure, prediabetic bliss.

But that love usually doesn’t always last forever. Oh no, life is often cruel and fickle. All of those good times, all of the comfort and trust, all of the snuggling and lust, all of it gone with the wind like a fleck of dust. So even though the relationship was great, all you’re left with is relationship weight.

And that’s where I find myself today. I’m still the same guy, but I now have “more to love.” I gained a nice, round twenty pounds and my love handles are officially too much for my pants to handle. I would very much like to improve my aesthetic, but man, it’s just so much work.

I have had a really hard time consistently motivating myself. It’s not like I have the insatiable desire for a “revenge…

--

--

Ryan Ehrhardt
ILLUMINATION

Self-published author who's interested in writing about many things and will write about those things.