The process to turn your life into a powerhouse.

Muhamed Ganijja
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readDec 8, 2023

I have been a gamer my whole life, addicted to games like Call of Duty, GTA, and Assassin’s Creed. I have played them so many times that I have memorized the maps.

To this day, I still remember maps from Call of Duty 2 and those old games. Video games were a big part of my life growing up.

Of course, I played a lot of sports, but I always had time for a quick game.

Photo by Bret Kavanaugh on Unsplash

I want to share a story that has a similar pattern.

In those days it was the same whether it was a game or a sport, there was always that one guy who was better than the group.

As a kid, I always used to say it was just blind luck or that he was just gifted for it, and I wasn’t.

He had a better gun or a better position, someone else always had better circumstances.

That was a childish way of thinking.

As time passed and I got older, I realized that I was responsible for the results I got. Not everyone is gifted, but some people put more work in than others.

Imagine the story of three friends playing video games, and there is this one kid who is better than the others. They play 10 maches, and he wins five of those.

The other two are jealous and say that he is lucky or that he plays more than them, so he is better.

And while on a break, the two of them go out to get snacks. While the guy who is always winning watches YouTube videos on how to play the game, where to hide, and what the best gun is.

Everything we do in life should have discipline, dedication, and focus.

If we want to succeed in something and be better than the rest, we should always learn and improve so that we can become better.

Video games and sports are the best representation of how time invested equals your reward. But sports are even more so.

Here’s an example

Jay Cater finished second in the Mister Olympia Competition four years in a row before winning first place in 2006.

Even though he had severe wins in his competitions, he had to put in more effort as his ambition grew. It was a slow process, but it created his goel.

At this stage of life that I am in now, I truly believe that work equals reward. It takes time, but what is the alternative?

“I do not know anyone who has got to the top without hard work. That is the recipe. It will not always get you to the top, but should get you pretty near.”

Margaret Thatcher

“Nobody who ever gave his best regretted it.”

George Halas

Someone once told me that if you want something done in life, I should do it with a burning passion.

These quotes are a symbol of that.

There are two big factors in this, which are discipline and burning passion. If you have both, you’re lucky.

Because most people lack both or have one but are too lazy to obtain the other. Most goals in the world can be accomplished.

--

--