4 Lessons from 2022: Personal Experience.

The need for Tenacity, Experiment, Travel, and Discipline

Ashutosh Nandanwar
ILLUMINATION
3 min readFeb 23, 2023

--

Photo by Ross Findon on Unsplash

Give in 100% and Give up non.

2022 has been a year of contrasts. I have seen many gains but also a lot of losses. There has been pain, frustration, and anger, but through all the ups and downs, the most important lesson that I have learned is to just stay and not give up (at least when I cannot give in 100%). Just as good things come and go, so do bad things.

Amid all the chaos and uncertainty, it can be tempting to give up and give in to despair. But I have come to realize that this is the worst thing we can do. It can be way worse that the situation itself. You will soon realize that even though the worst situation has passed, by giving up you missed the opportunity to develop tenacity.

The Need To Experiment.

I have not been experimenting enough with myself. I need to feel like Frankenstein. Personal experimentation is necessary for growth. Just as a plant needs nourishment to grow into a tree, likewise, our body and mind need experiments to grow. Specifically, for the mind, I haven’t paid enough attention to what it needs. As of now, I plan to nourish my mind by reading more, and to put my learning into practice, I will write articles.

Created with Dall.E 2

Travel More.

I ended 2022 while traveling. Some say that traveling can bring out the real you, but I haven’t had that experience yet. Apart from relaxation and a few other common reasons to travel, traveling, for me, is something akin to an achievement. By that, I mean that traveling is a goal for me, specifically the goal of visiting all the places around me. The reason for this goal is the joy and exhilaration I feel when exploring new places. I have this joy of achievement by traveling which I can call it a success.

A picture from my recent trip to Kerala, India.

Set Discipline, Get Habits, and Be Consistent.

Trying to change an existing habit or developing a new one is not easy, but it is not too difficult either. I too face challenges when trying to develop a habit, and through trial and error, I have found that the right mindset is crucial for developing a habit. You cannot simply decide to start a habit and expect to succeed; it requires discipline to maintain consistency. Discipline allows our minds to automate tasks, eventually leading to the development of habits, which in turn helps us to maintain consistency.

--

--