Let the Rain Pour Down

Free Your Mind and Body

Jeff Allen
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Gage Walker on Unsplash

We are hardwired to take shelter during rain showers and storms. Obviously, it’s best to run for the hills if thunderstorms roll in, but there are lessons to be learned if we can take a few moments to let a rain shower pour down over us.

Several years ago, my wife taught me this lesson. We were newlyweds at the time, just figuring out life together in a house by ourselves.

One night, we found ourselves in a difference of opinions, stemming from a debate over paint colors for the living room walls. Tired and cranky, we had already put so much time and effort into making our house a home.

Before we let our frustrations stew too long, my wife had an idea. She had noticed it was raining and asked me to go stand with her on the deck.

Hesitantly, I followed her onto the deck and immediately felt the cold rain on my head and shoulders. I was ready to go back inside, but my wife asked me to just stand with her and look up, so we did.

Looking up to the sky, we let the rain pour down on us. It was the one of the most cleansing moments I had ever experienced. Our indifference washed away, and the world was right again.

In life, we often find ourselves physically and emotionally drained. The world around us offers so many…

--

--

Jeff Allen
ILLUMINATION

Husband, father, lifetime DIY'er, runner, former small business owner, and tech enthusiast sharing perspective thru writing.