Lethal habits I was in that could destroy my life!

Get rid of these habits if you are involved in some!

Karim Mohamed
ILLUMINATION
3 min readFeb 24, 2024

--

Image by Dmitriy Ermakov on Unsplash

4 years ago, I felt hopeless and wanted to do nothing on my day. The reason why I was frustrated was because I quit my disgusting job which was to transcribe media files into text. OF course, I was paid for doing so, but a little compared to the great effort I always made to make my content the gold standard among my colleagues.

I thought to myself saying, “Karim, why don’t you quit to learn something new and useful instead of wasting 8 hours a day doing nothing?” That was my inner voice, and I made the final decision — QUIT!

5 Months of bad habits after quitting, thinking I was all right.

  • I used to have fun, hang out with friends, and enjoy my time at a cafe. The world has too many interesting things to enjoy, so don’t get sidetracked and keep going. That was me.
  • My mind was full of people saying, “Hey you! Look for a job and get a fixed income. Leave out your dreams and stop running after them, skip improving yourself. You will feel that you’re lost, but the salary you will get by the end of the month will relieve this feeling.” Once you are affected by people’s opinions, you will never reach what you want.
  • Once I found myself free, I would waste more time watching videos or any kind of posts on social media where you will escape from your problems or any pressure you are suffering. I would compare myself to people ahead of me on social media by which I felt weak, and I ended up my day believing that they didn’t deserve that. The more time I spent on social media, the faster I got depressed.
  • I was totally against the idea of trying something new. Do you like to try something new? No, never do that because you will fail. Do you like to make new relationships, and this might help you reinvent yourself? No, keep away from people because they might ignore you. Do you like to learn something new? No, it will take time and the idea is created already by lots of people, so we have no place for you. That was me following the mentioned answers.
  • Neglecting my mental and physical health was something depressing. Actually, I had two main factors behind being depressed this period: I remember I couldn’t afford to buy healthy food and the second factor was me not being able to afford a new subscription to a gym, whereas I found fast food and social media sufficient.
  • I realized that tasks piled up and courses or videos to be watched later in order to improve myself had no start. I remember doubling my effort in order to catch up with what was left behind to find my niche, so I became a multitasker.
  • Because I am someone who likes things to be completely perfect, I found out that I produced things with a lower quality than normal. At this time, I felt how flawed I was, and this reinforced my view that I was in the habit of nothing.
  • I remember having time with people who infinitely complained and blamed everting around them such as their position, financial difficulties and so on. However, the same people on social media shared How interesting it was when they were on a long vacation the week before, but they had a strong belief they were victims.
  • That leads me to have the same feeling as a victim, I felt that I wanted to blame everyone except me, thinking that I was the only one who didn’t do anything wrong.
  • Once you think about yourself, you will act as a victim. Later, I didn’t like the idea of thinking about what the other day had for me. Once your day finishes, don’t look back again at something you did, and think about what you have today for tomorrow.

By following these habits, I guarantee you failure! The above approach was followed, and I stopped being involved in one of them later. I want you to read the problems above and do the opposite thing!

--

--

Karim Mohamed
ILLUMINATION

"Live every moment as if it's the last moment you have. Live with faith, hope, love, and appreciate your valuable life," Dr. Ibrahim Al-Faqi.