Let’s Quickly Catch Up Today!

It’s been a while; don’t you miss me?

Med. Sch. Times
ILLUMINATION
2 min readApr 28, 2023

--

by author in canva

It’s been about two months since I last posted anything on Medium but it rather feels like a whole year!

Well, a lot has happened during this time and I really wish I could remember each and every little detail of it so that I could share that with you as part of my medical school journey. Well, I think we should start from now and work our way backwards…shall we?

Right now, I’m enjoying the first week of my two-week vacation on campus. Some people find it weird that I chose to spend that time in school and not at home since this may be our longest vacation in this academic year. A good number of my colleagues couldn’t wait to go home, whereas I am sitting on my chair in my room in the hostel typing away.

Well, I have very good reasons to have stayed in school…though it’s been quite boring so far and sometimes a bit unbearable especially with the frequent power cuts I have been experiencing in the hostel both day and night. I don’t know whether it’s the Electricity Company of Ghana (ECG) or those in charge of electricity in the university or the gargantuan amount of money that I heard the university owes ECG, or the permutations and varied combinations of any of these three is what forces me to endure darkness at night and heat during the day. Anyway, I just pray that my fridge and the food in it survive these frequent brutalities unscathed!

So far, my days have been quite monotonous, since I start each day with a pre-prepared schedule that divides my day into some chunks of at most 2 hour each so that I can have a productive day and get some personal projects of mine, such as writing a book and poems, studying the fundamental concepts of Genetics and creating videos for my TikTok account Sholicks, done. Some of parts of these schedules are devoted to my academics so that before the next semester begins, I would have studied ahead enough to lessen the imminent stress. After all, one of the lessons I have learnt so far in medical school is that the usual stress worsens as one moves into the higher levels or classes. In other words, the journey gets tougher with time and so instead of slacking for two weeks, I should rather be girding my loins for the battles ahead, right?

I think we should end here, because my alarm would soon ring to tell me the next activity on my schedule. Let’s continue this journey down my memory lane tomorrow ok. See ya!

Signed, Richeal.

--

--

Med. Sch. Times
ILLUMINATION

It's all about the priceless experiences, lessons and overall journey in Medical School. An expose on the everyday of a Ghanaian med. student.