Letter To Creator, Thank You

“In Everything give thanks.” A biblical verse I struggled to embrace growing up has become my truth, much to my relief!

Nombuso Makhubu
ILLUMINATION

--

An image from https://unsplash.com/@gabriellefaithhenderson

The image expresses that I am thankful today!

For being here, now, with whom I am, many thanks.

For the roof over my head, I am indebted.

For the family I have and that from which I come from, please accept my sincere gratitude.

I have food, and it’s lovingly prepared by my capable hands at the safety and comfort of the home you generously handed me.

That I have clothing for all seasons is something I thank you for, master of everything.

I am stopping to shower you with gratitude this spring Monday. For seasons are teachers unto us, letting us know that no period remains unchanged.

That in due time, a harvest period will supersede planting and plowing. A tree outside my backyard speaks truth to your faithfulness.

Regardless of seasonal transformation, that tree stands majestically. It almost never doubts what it is.

Nor the conviction that in due time its beautiful embroidery leaves will return, and so will the beautifully gifted songs birds of the sky.

--

--

Nombuso Makhubu
ILLUMINATION

I am of southern African descent living in Ottawa, Canada. My academic qualifications are law, human rights and social justice, global action and engagement.