Lie to Me

Hope Rising
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readMar 9, 2022

--

Photo by nikko macaspac on Unsplash

Lie to me because I don’t believe you and

The reason why I don’t believe you is the exact same

Reason why I can’t.

The questions that I want to ask are questions that would hurt you and

You tell me you’re an open book, but what is a book, unbound?

Feelings on pages absent any seams, glue or staples

A sea of letters scattered on the ground

I can’t do that

Even people like me have rules of engagement, and this would be

Decidedly in violation

I want to believe that you want to talk to me, but I can’t ask because

The response is the same either way, one your face real, one is a mask and

It hurts good people when they become a part of the cast

In your real-life reenactment of your troubled past

As it turns out, when good people tell you they love you, it hurts them

When you say that they don’t and you laugh

Saying all this makes me sound bad

But hurt people understand that

Recovery is taking refuge inside of the shell that you

--

--

Hope Rising
ILLUMINATION

Divorced, biracial woman | 25 going on 65 | Editor for Out of the Woods | I write to heal myself and others | Support me at https://ko-fi.com/aashaanna