Life in the Rat Race.

Alloyce Lugoma
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readJul 11, 2020
Photo by Dev Asangbam on Unsplash

One of my parents had a job. Salary alone could not pay for all the house expenses thus as family we were living within loans. A loan for this and that and so my parent had to work to pay those loans each month day in day out. No enjoying the comfortable clothes, shoes, meals, car(s) and a luxurious house which I desired. Each time we went for shopping for house stuff, we picked goods which were of average or low prices. One time I remember when I was going to get my first phone, I already knew which one to pick, Oppo A37 but sadly I was told I had to pick another phone of a lower price and I picked Oppo A71 which I have till today. That day, I felt so bad but after a couple of hours I continued living, I mean, I was already used to this life of disappointment.

Sometimes my mum used to tell my siblings and I, “What we as your parents cannot provide for you, you will provide for yourself and that is the reason you are in school.”

That not being all, during family functions I could see my affluent extended family members disparaging us since we were not well off like them. I felt bad though I had to move on regardless of my life situation; there is only so much man can do.

I would like to conclude with the silver lining of life in the rat race. As a family we got to live in a nice affordable estate which had so many children of different ages and due to this, I got the best experience as a child. I got to play all sorts of games like football, hide and seek, racing, bicycle cycling, police and robber and many more.Life in the Rat Race

--

--

Alloyce Lugoma
ILLUMINATION

I spin tales that sizzle & spark your imagination. Whether it's a captivating article, a heartfelt poem or a story that grips you tight igniting your desires.