“Steak” or “Stake” — Get Clarity Upfront

Life Lessons Learned At My 3rd Grade Spelling Bee

Does anyone else spell-check their texts?

Dr. Art Eckstat
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readAug 23, 2021

--

Image from Prime Stocks

Upfront clarity and attention to detail prevent preventable mistakes

All I could hear and feel was the roar of the blood rushing through my head as I stumbled and nearly fell over from dizziness. I was the best speller in the 3rd grade, if not the whole K-6 school. Why had I just heard the simple word I had spelled repeated for the next contestant?

It was my first spelling bee. I was confident that I was going to win because I never misspelled any of the words on the spelling tests. I couldn’t believe the next word presented to me was so easy. I confidently spelled “S T E A K” and was starting to smile when I heard the word repeated.

In my overconfidence, I had failed to ask for either the definition of the word, or to have the word used in a sentence. The word being said was even easier than the one I had spelled. The word was “STAKE.”

I didn’t actually hear the next contestant spelling the word. The roar of the blood rushing through my head was deafening, and I could feel myself getting dizzy. The memory is still vivid all these years later, and I’m…

--

--

Dr. Art Eckstat
ILLUMINATION

Life lessons for me and others. Champion of effective, all-inclusive communication without stereotypes. Engineering Consultant (LawsuitsConsultant.com).